Bewl Water

Well, it’s been a long time since I was here!  Time has run away with me and I’ve struggled to give my poor blog any TLC.  I can’t promise that is going to change over the next few weeks, but I’ll certainly give it a go.

Some time back, my sister and I decided to take a trip to Bewl Water, situated on the Kent/Sussex border.  Billed as the largest stretch of open water in the South East of England, the reservoir sits in an 800 acre site in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.  There are a number of activities available – fishing, cycling, boating etc. – but Helen and I chose instead to walk around the reservoir.  That’s not quite as straightforward as it may sound; the waymarked path is about 13 miles in length, and large signs situated at the beginning warn that it will take about six hours!  Much of the route follows the reservoir, but there are also sections through woodland and along quiet (and steep!) country lanes.

Below are some of my images from the walk.  Clicking on any of them will open the gallery in a new window should you wish to take a closer look.

 

 

