King’s Wood (Part 1)

It’s no secret that I love a walk in the woods.  There’s so much that appeals to me: the sounds of the forest, the hush, punctuated by birdsong and the creaking of the trees; the changing light, at times dramatic, at others soft and beautiful; and the feeling of being alone in a space that has grown and developed over so many years.

I recently found myself in King’s Wood, in Challock, Kent.  King’s Wood is an ancient woodland, managed by the Forestry Commission and the Kentish Stour Countryside Partnership.  It is about 1500 acres in size, with a mix of broadleaf and conifer woodland.  There are many paths to explore, but I stuck to the main marked trail, documenting the walk in a series of photos.

Here are the first set of images, with more to come next week.  Clicking on any of them will open up the gallery should you wish to take a closer look.

