The Swale National Nature Reserve

So much for good intentions!  As we approached the end of last year, I decided that I would get back into blogging in the new year, and here I am nearly a month in, finally writing a post!

As it happens, the few images in this post were taken on a cold, bright day in early December at The Swale National Nature Reserve.  Located in Leysdown-on-Sea, on the Isle of Sheppey in Kent, the Reserve proved tricky to find and, without my sister, her phone and her map reading skills, I doubt I’d ever have got there.  Managed by Elmley Conservation Trust, the Reserve is a special protection area, part of the coastal marshlands of north Kent and home to large numbers of wildfowl and waders.  As a result, it’s popular with birdwatchers, some of whom were happy to chat and share their experiences.  We weren’t able to stay as long as we had hoped because of other commitments, but look forward to a return visit and getting to know this part of our county a little better.

