Samphire Hoe

It’s been a busy few weeks and my blogging has suffered a bit as a result.  I will do my best to post at least once a week, but please bear with me if I don’t quite manage it!

For today, I have some images from my first visit to Samphire Hoe.  Located between Dover and Folkestone, Samphire Hoe is around 30 hectares and is situated at the foot of Shakespeare Cliff.  When the Channel Tunnel was built, the decision was made to deposit the spoil at the base of the cliff because it was considered to be the option with the least adverse environmental impact.

The site opened to the public in 1997 and has won a number of Green Flag Awards.  Over the years, it has developed into a nature reserve with a variety of habitats.  As a result it has become home to many species of wildlife, including some that are quite rare.

It happened to be a beautiful sunny day when I visited, perfect for walking and practicing my landscape photography.  And yes, that blue sky is real!

