Create the Way – Photographing the Work of a Charity (Part 1)

Every now and then I decide to be brave and step outside of my comfort zone.  In the summer, after mulling it over for rather longer than was necessary, I finally decided to take a chance and advertise a new, informal photography club that I wanted to start.  At the same time, I noticed an advert from a local charity, Create the Way, who were looking for someone to do some photography for them, primarily so they had some images for their website and other marketing materials.  Ignoring the voice that told me I couldn’t do it, I noted the details down and contacted Donna at Create the Way the  next day.

Create the Way, based in Lordswood, in Kent, accept donations of old or unwanted bicycles, then recycle them (with a fully trained bicycle mechanic overseeing the process) and pass them on to local people who are on low incomes.   They also provide young people with training and workshops in bicycle maintenance, and offer a ‘build a bike’ scheme, providing those who are currently unemployed with the opportunity to build their own bike, which they can then use to get to work, interviews, training courses or voluntary placements.  Do have a look at their website for more information about these projects and some of the other exciting things that they are doing – but please be aware that it is currently being developed and some of the pages are not quite finished.

Create the Way-6

Now, I am the first to admit that I know nothing at all about bikes or cycling.  Nor am I used to working to someone else’s brief, for someone else’s website.  And of course, if you follow this blog regularly, you’ll know that I am much more at home in the Kent countryside than I am photographing people in their place of work.  However, the team at Create the Way were very welcoming and quickly got used to me following them around, and I came away with a good number of images.  Some of them can be found on the Create the Way website (see the gallery page) and they have also kindly given me permission to share some here.  I will split them over a couple of posts.

First, just a word of explanation: a few of the images were taken at the Mayor’s Ride, at which mechanics from Create the Way offered free safety checks before the event started, but the majority were taken in the Create the Way workshop.

