Walking the Darnley Trail (Part 1)

The Darnley Trail is about 6.2 miles long and connects some of the places that I visit regularly – Shorne Woods Country Park and Ranscombe Farm Reserve – with other areas of Kentish countryside and woodland.  It was not a walk I had completed before but the directions were fairly clear and, apart from one small detour, I was able to follow along without getting lost.  Once or twice the path was very overgrown and I was a little nervous about continuing, imagining the creatures that might be lurking and worried about who/what I might be stepping on… but as the alternative was a fast road with no path, I carried on and, apart from one or two encounters with stinging nettles, emerged intact.

Here are the first of my images from the walk, with more to follow next week.  Clicking on any of them will open up the gallery so you can take a closer look.

