People on the Saxon Shore Way (Part 2)

As promised in my last Friday blog post, here are the rest of the images that I chose to present as part of my project capturing people on and around the Saxon Shore Way in Gravesend and Gillingham, in Kent.  As I took the photos, I had two primary ‘rules’ for myself; firstly, I needed to stay on the path, even if the people in the photographs were not following it themselves.  In this way, I wanted to root myself in the history of the place, whilst seeking to capture something of the present and the way in which the area around the Saxon Shore Way is used now.  Secondly, and as mentioned in my earlier post, I tried to ensure the figures in the photographs were of a similar size – small enough to heighten the feeling of being a little lost in the environment but not so small as to be lost entirely.

6

7

8

9

10

 

