Exploring Northumberland

I would highly recommend a visit to Northumberland – and I’ve only seen a tiny part of it!  With a National Park, two Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a fascinating history, it is an ideal place for those who love walking, exploring and taking photos.  Our trip took us to Wallington (a National Trust property near Morpeth), to Haggerston Castle (now a holiday park!) and Berwick-upon-Tweed.

Royal Border Bridge River Tweed

These photos were taken at Berwick, on my last day and on a very short, half-hour visit before my train home.  We only really had time to climb up to the castle, admire the view and leave again, so it’s now on ‘my must visit properly’ list.

Blue tit 1  Blue tit 3  Blue tit 2

Chaffinch

Daisy Path Tree

Light

Reflection 2 Reflection 3

Reflection

A visitor to Wallington will find a house and gardens, lakes, woodland, parkland and farmland!   We decided to visit the wildlife hide and were lucky enough to spot a red squirrel (not pictured – too quick for me and my camera!) and a number of birds.

Pastel Boat

Goose

Swan and Cygnets Family

 Tree

Swan

The last of the photos were taken at Haggerston Castle, on an evening stroll around the caravan park. 

