RHS Garden Wisley (Part 1)

Whilst I certainly have some favourite places to head with the camera, it’s also fun exploring somewhere new.  My Dad has gift membership for the RHS (Royal Horticultural Society), which allows him to visit their four gardens and to take a family guest along with him.  He invited me to join him on a visit to Wisley in Surrey, considered the Society’s flagship garden.  Although the sun was rather elusive, many of the gorgeous spring flowers were in bloom and the gardens were full of colour.  Our visit happened to coincide with the first day of the annual orchid display in the Glasshouse, and we also had the opportunity to see birds of prey at close quarters, so there were plenty of subjects to photograph.

I used my tele-macro lens (70-300 mm) and shot in RAW, which necessitated a certain amount of post-processing.  I have, as always, kept this to a minimum, tweaking contrast, clarity and vibrance in Elements, but otherwise leaving the images alone.  For the first time, I am going to experiment with the gallery option in WordPress; hopefully, if you click on any image the gallery will open and you’ll then be able to scroll through the photos.  More to follow next week…

