A Day at the Zoo (Part 1)

I recently spent a day at London Zoo with my family.  My sister, Helen, loves penguins and had received a ‘meet and greet’ with Ricky the (famous) Rockhopper Penguin as a Christmas present.  We decided to make the most of the day, getting there shortly after opening and staying on until it was nearly closing time.  It was a cold, grey Sunday and some of the animals decided to sleep in – and who can blame them?  Nevertheless, I somehow managed to come away with a good number of photos!

Resting

It is only just over a year since I learnt how to use my camera on manual settings and, so far as I can remember, it was the first time I had gone out with the specific intention of photographing animals and birds.  On the whole I am quite pleased with the results, though technically there are definitely improvements to make, particularly with focusing and aperture choice.  Still, here are some of my favourites, with more to follow in Part 2.  As always, all images are ‘clickable’ if you would like to take a closer look.

Ricky Ricky and friends

Ricky and friends

PoseHeron

A visitor at penguin beach  

Gorilla

Handsome but looking so sad

Time for teaGiraffe Pair

‘Giraffe High Tea’

MeerkatTogether

Cold outside but lovely and warm in the Blackburn Pavilion, a walk-through exhibit and home to many tropical birds

Tiger

Not my best shot but included for Liz, who is looking forward to her ‘tiger encounter’ later this year

Golden 1Golden 2

There are some beautiful birds in the Blackburn Pavilion, home to around 50 different species

Otters

