H2O

Some of my favourite images include water.  I love playing with reflections, capturing the scene in its entirety or in a more abstract, mysterious photo.  I enjoy photographing a moment of calm beside a small stream or the drama and beauty of a sunset over water.  And as it happens, many of the images I remember and return to were also taken in the Rockies, a collection I was keen to add to on my most recent trip.

Grinnell (2)Lake Josephine (2)

Photo 1 is a view of Grinnell Lake from the trail to Grinnell Glacier.  Photo 2 is Lake Josephine.

It wasn’t possible to take a tripod with me on this trip – it was already a struggle to fit everything in my suitcase and I didn’t fancy carrying it on our hikes – but I came across an alternative.  The Pod squashed into my camera bag and gave me the option of taking some shots with slower shutter speeds.  On its first outing, I set my camera up on The Pod and placed them both on a rock, then pointed them towards a scene that included flowing water, only to discover that I couldn’t stoop low enough to see through the viewfinder.  So I pushed the button, kept my fingers crossed and checked the results.  I was lucky; with some slight adjustments to the camera angle I was able to capture a few images that I liked.

Waterfalls-Gunsight2Waterfalls-Gunsight3Waterfalls-Gunsight4 (2)Waterfalls-GunsightHeart-Creek (2)

The last photo was taken at Heart Creek in Alberta.  The others are of waterfalls on the Gunsight Pass Trail (name unknown!).  The second photo is somewhat blurry because of unintentional camera movement, but I like the composition and the abstract nature of the image.

There were many other places that grabbed my attention.  As we drove along Going-to-the-Sun Road, for example, we spotted waterfalls at the side of the road, the water spilling down the rocks and pooling at the bottom.  In the bright sunshine, the water glistened, an effect that is hard to fully capture in a photo.

Going-to-the-Sun-Road5Going-to-the-Sun-Road3 (2)

Our hikes gave us the opportunity to explore a little further afield, to glacier-fed lakes, with their amazing turquoise colour (not something I have ever managed to capture well in a photo), and pretty waterfalls against red rocks.  We also saw the power of water, the after-effects of the recent flooding – bridges washed out, tree roots laid bare and the paths of rivers altered forever.

Cameron-Falls2 (2)Heart-Creek5 (2)Wilbur-Falls2   Heart-Creek6 (2)   Redrock-Falls  Wilbur-Falls

Photo 1 is of Cameron Falls, photos 2 and 4 were taken at Heart Creek, photos 3 and 6 are Wilbur Falls and photo 5 is Redrock Falls.  The bridge in photo 4 is a simple replacement for one of those lost in the flooding, providing a way for hikers to continue to explore Heart Creek. 
