New Beginnings

We Brits are well known for our love of talking about the weather.  This year it was the long, grey, cold winter that became a regular feature of our conversations, and there was a collective sigh of relief when spring finally started to make a breakthrough.  Perhaps that’s one of the reasons why so many of my recent photos are of flowers…

IMG_2119-webIMG_1757-web(Above) Taken at Scotney Castle in Kent, March 2013. On an overcast day and with more snow still to come, these buds were particularly eye catching. (Right) A snowdrop walk on the Staunton Harold Estate, Leicestershire in March 2013.


I’ve discovered that flowers make great subjects.  Okay, not exactly rocket science, but as someone who has generally favoured more rugged scenery, and mountains in particular, this is a new thing for me.  I’m no gardener and have usually enjoyed the general colourfulness without paying a huge amount of attention to the individual blooms.  It’s funny how my way of seeing things changes when I’ve a camera around my neck and a determination to find something worth taking a photo of.  I still can’t name the flowers, and suspect I never will be able to, but have started to appreciate the varying and vibrant colours, patterns, even textures that are on display at this time of year.

IMG_2548-webIMG_2528-web

Leeds Castle in Kent is set in 500 acres of parkland and has a number of beautiful gardens.  These photos were taken there in May 2013.

I read somewhere that the best photos of flowers tend to be taken from the side, rather than from above and, on the whole, I agree.  However, there were others that, to my eye, were more interesting from another angle and so I experimented a bit.

IMG_2522-webIMG_2562-web 
(Left) In some ways this photo doesn’t quite work and I wish I’d tried changing the camera settings a little, but there’s something about it that appeals to my rather strange sense of humour. I have no idea what these unusual looking flowers are but am quite sure they are on the look out for someone to talk to.
(Right) Again taken at Leeds Castle, May 2013, it was the naturally forming patterns that grabbed my attention here – and the vivid colour of the flower of course.

All of the photos in this post have been taken with a larger aperture (f/5.6) to ensure a shallow depth of field.

IMG_2545-web IMG_2546-web IMG_2552-web_edited-2 IMG_2586-web IMG_2619-web IMG_2742-web

(Above) All taken in May 2013 at Leeds Castle (photos 1, 2, 3 and 5), White Horse Wood Country Park, Kent (photo 4) and Nymans, Sussex (photo 6).
